St. Wilfrid's Church, as it stands today, was built on the site of an old chapel. The foundation stone was laid in April 1862 by Bishop Cornthwaite. The architect who designed the building was called George Goldie, son of a prominent parishioner Dr. Goldie. George Goldie was baptised in St. Wilfrid's chapel. He also designed St Wilfrid's Primary School nearby, however, he died in 1887 before the school was built.
The Church was designed in a Gothic Revival manner, a copy of 13th-14th century style. The arch over the main door has the most detailed Victorian carving in the city.
The Church was completed in 1864, costing around £10,000, and was opened by Cardinal Wiseman in June of that year. It was considered to be one of the most perfectly finished Catholic Churches in England, rich in sculpture and paintings and stained glass. It became the Pro-Cathedral Church of the Beverley Diocese. This was short lived as Beverley diocese was split to make the Dioceses of Leeds (South of the River Ouse) and Dioceses of Middlesbrough (North of the River Ouse). Nevertheless, St. Wilfrid's still stands as the 'Mother Church of the city of York'.
You are viewing panorama No.44 (Saint Wilfrids Curch, 11 High Petergate), one of 134 Virtual Reality 360 degree views of York.
Map of York showing the location of Saint Wilfrids Curch, 11 High Petergate at Latitude 53.96143 / Longitude -1.08493.
We have visited York on a number of occasions to produce this tour, this page was created on Thu, 25 Sep 2014 16:49:53 +0100, although the photography may have been obtained on an earlier date.
5 Day, 10 Day, 15 Day long range weather forecast and current conditions for Saint Wilfrids Curch, 11 High Petergate, York